Senate Foreign Relations Committee Votes in Favor of War

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee passed a resolution Wednesday that would give President Barack Obama the authority to bomb Syria within a 90-day period.

The committee passed the resolution 10-7 with 1 present.

Those who voted yes include Barbera Boxer (D-CA), Benjamin Cardin (D-MD), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chris Coons (D-DE), Dick Durbin (D-IL) , Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bob Corker (R-TN), Jeff Flake (R-AZ) and John McCain (R-AZ).

Those who voted no include Tom Udall (D-NM), Chris Murphy (D-CT) , James E. Risch (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ron Johnson (R-WI), John Barrasso (R-WY) and Rand Paul (R-KY).

Edward Markey (D-MA) voted present.


The resolution (pdf), written by committee Chairman Menendez and ranking Republican member Corker, states that the administration must present a plan within 30 days of the resolution’s enactment, should it pass in Congress and, in turn, act within 90 days of that plan’s finalization.

The resolution includes two amendments proposed by Sen. McCain “that would explicitly make it a policy of the US to seek to ‘change the momentum of the battlefield’ in ways that would force Assad to negotiate his resignation,” the Guardian reports.

“It is the policy of the United States to change the momentum on the battlefield in Syria so as to create favorable conditions for a negotiated settlement that ends the conflict and leads to a democratic government in Syria,” states one of amendments as proposed by McCain and Democrat Chris Coons.

The resolution will now go up for debate and a final vote on the Senate floor next week.


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License

Click Here: cheap Cowboys jersey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *