Roppongi 3K Wins Super Jr. Tag League for 3rd Year in a Row, Attacked by Champions

Roppongi 3K have won the 2019 Super Jr. Tag League, marking the third consecutive year that the duo have won the tournament, and the second in which they’ve done so by defeating El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru.

Both teams went into the finals on Sunday at NJPW Power Struggle with 10 points and a 5-2 record. SHO and YOH took an absolute beating before, during and after the match, as the Suzuki-Gun squad employed every dirty tactic in the books to isolate the boys and slowly pick them apart.

The 2018 finals actually came down to a triple threat tag team situation, which also included the Los Ingobernables team of BUSHI and Shingo Takagi. Because the later moved to the heavyweight division earlier this year, he obviously did not compete in the Super Jr. Tag League this time around.

Following SHO and YOH’s monumental win – the first time any team has won the tournament three years running – they had about 30 seconds in total to celebrate until being attacked by the reigning IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Champions El Phantasmo and Taiji Ishimori.

第6試合SUPER Jr. TAG LEAGUE 2019 優勝決定戦🏆、 @njpwShowT & @njpwyohei_k🆚@kmaru0923 & @ElDesperado5❗️入場途中のSHO&YOHの背後から金丸&デスペラードが襲撃❗️優勝決定戦は波乱のスタート❗️
登録&視聴👉 #njpw #njpst

— njpwworld (@njpwworld) November 3, 2019

This is an interesting situation, as the Bullet Club tag team also went into Power Struggle putting up 10 points in the tournament, with a 5-2 record. However, because their only two losses came at the hands of Roppongi 3K and Suzuki-Gun, it was decided that they would not be included in the finals.

ELP and Ishimori knocked out SHO and YOH with relative ease, before posing with their titles… and stealing the Super Jr. Tag League trophies! The two legitimately believe themselves to be the uncrowned winners, especially after defeating Rocky Romero and Robbie Eagles earlier in the night at Power Struggle.

While not confirmed quite yet, it’s expected that it will be champions vs. tournament winners at one of the two nights of Wrestle Kingdom 14 at the Tokyo Dome, which means El Phantasmo and Taiji Ishimori defending the IWGP Jr. Tag Team Championships against Roppongi 3K.

Click Here: north queensland cowboys rugby store

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *