Daily Pro Wrestling History (04/30): The Rock wins WWF title at Backlash 2000


Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada:

– AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Dick the Bruiser 

– The Crusher beat Wilbur Snyder

– Doug Gilbert & Rene Goulet beat Hans Schmidt & Tiny Mills 2 out of 3 falls

– Mitsu Arakawa beat Jack Pesek


St. Paul, Minnesota:

– Cage Match: Crusher beat Chris Tolos 2 out of 3 falls (Special Referee: The Alaskan)

– Larry Hennig beat Verne Gagne by DQ

– Steve Druk beat The Alaskan 

– Reggie Parks beat Bob Morgan

– Chris Markoff beat Johnny Kace

– Mark Starr beat Guy Taylor


Moline, Illinois:

– Larry Hennig & Harley Race & Mad Dog Vachon beat Verne Gagne & Doug Gilbert & Bill Watts

– Dutch Savage beat Dr X COR

– Big K beat Rene Goulet

– Mad Dog Vachon drew Doug Gilbert (sub Mighty Igor Vodik)


Kansas City, Kansas:

– The Stomper & Bob Geigel defeated Baron Von Raschke & Harley Race  


Denver, Colorado:

– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Larry Hennig by DQ

– Verne Gagne & Greg Gagne beat Bobby Duncum & Bobby Heenan

– Mad Dog Vachon beat Jim Brunzell

– Blackjack Lanza drew Russ Francis 


Baltimore, Maryland:

– 16-man $5000 battle royal

– SD Jones defeated Johnny Rodz

– Nikolai Volkoff defeated Jan Nelson

– Ken Patera defeated Ted Adams

– Superstar Billy Graham defeated Bruno Sammartino to win the WWWF World Heavyweight Title 

– Tony Garea fought Baron Von Raschke to a 30-minute draw

– WWWF Tag Team Champion Billy Whitewolf defeated Doug Gilbert

– Larry Zbyzsko defeated Moose Monroe

– WWWF Tag Team Champion Chief Jay Strongbow defeated Baron Mikel Scicluna


Ottawa, Ontario, Canada:

– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Greg Gagne 

– Adrian Adonis & Jesse Ventura went to a no contest with AWA Tag Team Champions Verne Gagne & Mad Dog Vachon

– Bobby Heenan beat Lord Alfred Hayes

– Jerry Blackwell beat Johnny War Eagle

– Gino Brito beat Mad Dog Lefebvre


St. Louis, Missouri:

– NWA Champion Ric Flair defeated Gene Kiniski in 2 out of 3 falls

– Missouri Champion Dick the Bruiser defeated Harley Race by countout

– Ken Patera and Crusher Blackwell defeated Dewey Robertson and Rufus R. Jones

– Kelly Kiniski defeated Jerry Brown

– Sabrina and Princess Victoria defeated Joyce Grable and Wendi Richter.


Greensboro, North Carolina:

– Greg Valentine defeated Roddy Piper for the NWA U.S. Heavyweight Title 


West Palm Beach, Florida:

– Diamond Dallas Page pinned Marcus Alexander Bagwell

– Johnny B. Badd pinned Tracy Smothers

– Dustin Rhodes pinned Mr. Hughes

– WCW US Tag Team Champions Greg Valentine & Terry Taylor defeated Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin via disqualification

– Barry Windham pinned Larry Zbyszko

– Rick & Scott Steiner defeated WCW Tag Team Champions Arn Anderson & Bobby Eaton in a non-title match

– Ricky Steamboat & Nikita Koloff defeated WCW US Champion Rick Rude & Steve Austin


Click Here: West Coast Eagles Guernsey

Raleigh, North Carolina:

– Kent Cole defeated Wrecking Crew Fury

– Maxx Payne defeated Keith Cole

– Arn Anderson & Erik Watts defeated Bobby Eaton & Chris Benoit

– Rick Rude defeated Brad Armstrong

– WCW US Champion Dustin Rhodes defeated WCW TV Champion Paul Orndorff

– NWA World Champion Barry Windham defeated Ron Simmons

– WCW World Champion Big Van Vader defeated Ricky Steamboat

Shenandoah, Virginia:

– Robbie Eagle pinned Bill Maddox

– Brian Lee pinned Killer Kyle

– The Nightstalker pinned Kevin Sullivan

– SMW Heavyweight Champion Tracy Smothers pinned the Dirty White Boy

– Tim Horner, Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson defeated Killer Kyle, Tom Prichard, & Jim Cornette


Feds Creek, Kentucky:

– Steven Dunn defeated Anthony Michaels

– Timothy Well defeated Bobby Blaze

– Tracy Smothers defeated Kendo the Samurai via disqualification

– SMW Heavyweight Champion the Dirty White Boy defeated the Prince Kharis

– Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson defeated SMW Tag Team Champions Brian Lee & Chris Candido via disqualification


Augusta, Georgia:

– Chris Benoit defeated Booker T for the WCW Television Title  


WWE Backlash: Washington, DC:

– WWF World Tag Team Champions Edge & Christian defeated Road Dogg & X-Pac 

– WWF Light Heavyweight Champion Dean Malenko defeated Scotty Too Hotty

– Big Bossman & Bull Buchanan defeated The Acolytes

– WWF Hardcore Champion Crash Holly defeated Tazz, Hardcore Holly, Perry Saturn, Matt Hardy and Jeff Hardy in a six-way match 

– The Big Show (dressed as Hulk Hogan and calling himself the “Showster”) defeated Kurt Angle 

– Test & Albert defeated The Dudleys (Bubba & D-Von) 

– WWF European Champion Eddie Guerrero defeated Esse Rios

– WWF Intercontinental Champion Chris Benoit defeated Chris Jericho via DQ

– The Rock defeated Triple H to win the WWF World Title (Shane McMahon special referee)


WWE Backlash:

– Goldust defeated Rob Conway

– Carlito defeated Chris Masters

– Umaga (with Armando Alejandro Estrada) defeated Ric Flair

– Trish Stratus defeated Mickie James by disqualification in a match for the WWE Women’s Championship

– Rob Van Dam defeated Shelton Benjamin to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

– Big Show vs. Kane ended in a no contest

– The McMahons (Vince McMahon and Shane McMahon) defeated Shawn Michaels and God in a No Holds Barred tag team match

– John Cena defeated Triple H and Edge (with Lita) in Triple threat match to retain the WWE Championship


WWE Payback: San Jose, California:

– Enzo Amore & Big Cass beat Luke Gallows & Karl Anderson 

– Chris Jericho beat Kevin Owens to win the U.S. title

– Austin Aries beat Neville via DQ to retain the Cruiserweight Title

– Matt & Jeff Hardy retained the tag titles beating Sheamus & Cesaro

– Alexa Bliss pinned Bayley to win the women’s title

– Randy Orton vs. Bray Wyatt fought in the House of Horrors

– Seth Rollins beat Samoa Joe 

– Bray Wyatt pinned Randy Orton

– Braun Strowman pinned Roman Reigns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *